Oct 02, 2023
This is a Selective Access program.
This program is designed to prepare students for employment as funeral directors, morticians, and undertakers or to provide supplemental training for persons previously or currently employed in these occupations.
All courses within this certificate program require a grade of at least a C or higher with the exception of FSE 2930 which requires a grade of P (pass). Students must achieve a minimum of 85% to pass FSE 2930 .
This academic program is designed to meet specific state or professional needs. It is not accredited by the American Board of Funeral Service Education. Students graduating from this program are not eligible to take the National Board Examination or any state board examination for which graduation from an ABFSE accredited program is required.
This program is regulated by the Florida Board of Funeral, Cemetery and Consumer Services. Students who wish to take the Florida Funeral Director Only examination and apply for licensure as a Florida Funeral Director must hold an associate’s degree or higher per Florida Statute 497.373 as approved by the Florida Department of Financial Services, Division of Funeral, Cemetery and Consumer Services. Additional licensure requirements include serving in a one-year internship under the direction of a licensed funeral director and embalmer and successfully passing the Florida Laws and Rules examination. Graduates of the program who do not meet these requirements will not be eligible to sit for the examination or apply for licensure in the state of Florida.
- Acceptance to Florida State College at Jacksonville.
- A minimum 2.0 grade point average (GPA) on a 4.0 scale in all college work to be used for the degree.
- Completion of the Funeral Services program application.
- Provide proof of high school completion (required). If applicable, all postsecondary transcripts are required.
The application deadline is May 15 of each year with classes starting in the fall term.
Need More Information? Contact:
The Health Career Information Center, (904) 646-2300 or firstname.lastname@example.org
General Education Coursework
Credit Hours: 3
Credit Hours: 22
A minimum grade of C or higher is required in all Professional coursework with the exception of FSE 2930 which requires a grade of P (Pass). Students must achieve a minimum of 85% to pass FSE 2930 .
Professional Elective Coursework
Credit Hours: 6
A minimum grade of C or higher is required in all Professional Elective coursework.
Total Credit Hours: 31 / Program Length: 13 Months
Record of Conviction of a Crime
Effective July 1, 2009, pursuant to Section 456.0635, Florida Statutes, health care review boards shall refuse to renew a license, certificate or registration, issue a license, certificate or registration and shall refuse to admit a candidate for examination if the applicant has been convicted or plead guilty or nolo contendere, regardless of adjudication, to a felony violation of: chapters 409, 817, or 893, Florida Statutes; or 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396, unless the sentence and any probation or pleas ended more than 15 years prior to the application, terminated for cause from Florida Medicaid Program (unless the applicant has been in good standing for the most recent five years) or terminated for cause by any other State Medicaid Program or the Medicare Program (unless the termination was at least 20 years prior to the date of the application and the applicant has been in good standing with the program for the most recent five years). The Florida nursing or allied health licensure or certification application requires disclosure of any criminal history and the disposition of all cases prior to board review. Being convicted of, or having entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, any of the listed felonies in Florida Statute 456.0635 or termination for cause from the statutorily-described Medicaid programs will preclude an applicant from obtaining a nursing or allied health license or certification in the state of Florida. Entry and acceptance into the nursing or allied health program does not guarantee licensure or certification in the state of Florida.
Criminal Background Check and Drug Screen
Most clinical agencies require students to undergo drug screen and criminal background checks prior to placement in the agencies for clinical experiences. Students whose drug screening and criminal background checks are deemed unsatisfactory may be denied access to clinical experiences by the clinical agencies. Failure to qualify for and meet clinical requirements at clinical sites may prevent completion of the program. Withdrawal from the program may be necessary if students cannot be placed for clinical experiences.
Some practice settings may have additional requirements including health insurance, a volunteer application, references, additional fingerprinting and background check (e.g. the Jessica Lunsford Act for school environments), drug testing, flu shot, Covid-19 testing/vaccine and/or an interview prior to the start of the clinical experience. The additional requirements are the responsibility of the student, including expenses.
The cost of the background check(s) and drug screen(s) is borne by the student. Additionally, it is the student’s responsibility to have all paperwork completed by the program’s published deadline.
Students who are unable to complete the clinical requirements after acceptance into Limited Access or Selective Access programs are not eligible for refunds of tuition and fees.
A physical examination will be required upon acceptance to the program. It is the students’ responsibility to renew their annual physical examination as well as tuberculosis (TB) test.
In order to be awarded a technical certificate, students must have met the following requirements.
- Fulfill all academic requirements for the chosen program of study as outlined in the Florida State College at Jacksonville catalog and curriculum.
- Earn minimum prescribed semester hours for the chosen program of study with a cumulative grade point average of 2.0 (C) on a 4.0 scale on all courses that apply to the chosen program of study.
- Complete a minimum of 25 percent of the total hours required for the program in residence at Florida State College at Jacksonville. Credit by examination and credit for prior learning do not count toward this residency requirement.
- Fulfill all obligations, financial or otherwise, to the College before graduating.
Note: Students are cautioned to pay particular attention to the following statements.
- A student’s graduation date will be the date of the end of the College term in which the student has fulfilled all academic requirements (The removal of an incomplete grade does not affect students’ graduation dates since the grade change is effective at the end of the term in which the incomplete grade was assigned rather than the term in which the incomplete work was made up).
- Students who enter under the (2023/2024) catalog will be assigned to the degree or certificate requirements in effect during the 2023/2024 academic year. The student’s assigned catalog year will remain in effect as long as the student maintains continuous enrollment. Changes to requirements as mandated by law or by rule of the District Board of Trustees may supersede this provision.
- Many courses in this catalog have prerequisite requirements and/or corequisite courses listed in the course descriptions. Students are advised to be guided by these requirements.
- Students who place into developmental education courses are required to complete designated developmental education courses with a grade of C or higher regardless of program of study.
This certificate articulates directly into the Funeral Services (2161) (A.S.) degree. Students may pursue one or more certificates to develop or upgrade their skills in a particular field, or pursue the A.S. degree and earn technical certificates while completing the requirements for the degree. Contact an advisor to determine the career education path that is best for you.