Javascript is currently not supported, or is disabled by this browser. Please enable Javascript for full functionality.

Skip to Main Content


    Florida State College at Jacksonville
   
 
  Nov 28, 2021
 
2015-2016 Catalog [Aug. 2015-Aug. 2016] 
    
2015-2016 Catalog [Aug. 2015-Aug. 2016] [Archived Catalog]

Academics: Academic Calendar


2015-2016 Academic Calendar

Florida State College at Jacksonville offers students a unique trimester academic calendar of three 16-week terms for fall/spring and summer. This trimester system gives students excellent flexibility and multiple options for scheduling classes. Classes are offered in 16-, 12-, 8- and 4-week sessions for fall/spring and summer classes for college credit and non-college credit.

Registration Information

Register on campus during business hours.

Campus Regular Hours
  • Mon.-Thurs., 8 a.m.-6 p.m.
  • Fri., 8 a.m.-3 p.m.
Campus Extended Full Service Hours (May 12 - May 17 only)
  • Thurs., May 12, 8 a.m.-7 p.m.
  • Fri., May 13, 8 a.m.-5 p.m.
  • Sat., May 14, 9 a.m.-1 p.m.
  • Mon., May 16, 8 a.m.-7 p.m.
  • Tues., May 17, 8 a.m.-7 p.m.

Center information:

  • Betty P. Cook Nassau Center: (904) 548-4400
  • Cecil Center: (904) 779-4200
  • Deerwood Center: (904) 997-2500
  • Urban Resource Center: (904) 632-5099

Tuition payments are due by 7 p.m. of the established payment deadline date. Failure to make your payment by 7 p.m. will result in classes being dropped from your schedule. If you register after the final payment deadline, payment will be due the day of your registration.

To ensure timely processing, courses must be dropped or withdrawn by 7 p.m. of the deadline date for each session.

Spring Term Academic Calendar

Wednesday, Jan. 6

Classes begin: Sessions A4, A8, A12, A16 (Spring Term begins)

Wednesday, Jan. 13

Drop deadline with 100% refund: Sessions A4, A8, A12, A16

Friday, Jan. 15

Degree award message reflects on transcript for fall 2015 graduates

Monday, Jan. 18

Martin Luther King, Jr. Holiday - College closed

Thursday, Jan. 21

Withdrawal deadline for Session A4 with W grade (no refund)

Sunday, Jan. 31

Session A4 classes end

Monday, Feb. 1

Classes begin: Sessions B4, B8, B12

Tuesday, Feb. 2

Final grades due by 7 p.m.: Session A4

Monday, Feb. 8

Drop deadline with 100% refund: Sessions B4, B8, B12

Tuesday, Feb. 9

Withdrawal deadline for Session A8 with W grade (no refund)

Monday, Feb. 15

Presidents’ Day Holiday - College closed

Thursday, Feb. 18

Withdrawal deadline for Session B4 with W grade (no refund)

Thursday, Feb. 25

Withdrawal deadline for Session A12 with W grade (no refund)

Sunday, Feb. 28

Sessions A8, B4 classes end

Monday, Feb. 29

Classes begin: Sessions C4, C8

Tuesday, Mar. 1

Final grades due by 7 p.m.: Sessions A8, B4

Monday, Mar. 7

Drop deadline with 100% refund: Sessions C4, C8

Thursday, Mar. 10

Deadline to submit general and academic appeals for fall 2015

Tuesday, Mar. 15 Withdrawal deadline for Session A16 with W grade (no refund)

Thursday, Mar. 17

Withdrawal deadline for Session C4 with W grade (no refund)

Monday, Mar. 21 - Sunday, Mar. 27

**Spring Break - College closed

Tuesday, Mar. 29

Withdrawal deadline for Session B12 with W grade (no refund)

Sunday, Apr. 3

Sessions A12, B8, C4 classes end

Monday, Apr. 4

Classes begin: Session D4

Tuesday, Apr. 5

Final grades due by 7 p.m. Sessions A12, B8, C4

Monday, Apr. 11

Drop deadline with 100% refund: Session D4

Tuesday, Apr. 12

Withdrawal deadline for Session C8 with W grade (no refund)

Wednesday, Apr. 20 Withdrawal deadline for Session D4 with W grade (no refund)

Saturday, Apr. 23 Friday, Apr. 29

Final examination period: Session A16

Friday, Apr. 29

Sessions A16, B12, C8, D4 classes end (Spring Term end)

Friday, Apr. 29

Last day to change incomplete grade earned spring 2015. Remaining I grades will convert to F

Tuesday, May 3

Spring term final grades are due by 2 p.m.

Summer Term Academic Calendar

Monday, May 2

Summer classes begin for Non-Credit Programs: Session A16

Tuesday, May 3

Spring term final grades are due by 2 p.m.

Friday, May 6

College designated holiday (College Closed)

Monday, May 9

Drop deadline with refund: Session A16

Friday, May 13

Degree award message reflects on transcript for spring 2016 graduates

Monday, May 16

Classes begin: Sessions 1 (A14), A7

Monday, May 23

Drop deadline with refund: Sessions 1 (A14), A7

Monday, May 30

Memorial Day Holiday - College closed

Tuesday, May 31

Classes begin: Session B12

Tuesday, June 7

Drop deadline with refund: Session B12

Wednesday, June 15

Withdrawal deadline for Session A7 with “W” grade (no refund)

Sunday, July 3

Session A7 classes end

Monday, July 4

Independence Day Holiday - College closed

Tuesday, July 5

Classes begin: Session C7

Tuesday, July 7

Withdrawal deadline for Session A16 with “W” grade (no refund)

Tuesday, July 12

Drop deadline with refund: Session C7

Thursday, July 14

Withdrawal deadline for Session 1 (A14) with “W” grade (no refund)

Thursday, July 14

Deadline to submit general and academic appeals for spring term 2016

Wednesday, July 20

Withdrawal deadline for Session B12 with “W” grade (no refund)

Thursday, Aug. 4

Withdrawal deadline for Session C7 with “W” grade (no refund)

Saturday, Aug. 13 - Friday, Aug. 19

Final examination period: Session 1 (A14)

Friday, Aug. 19

Sessions A16, 1 (A14), B12, C7 classes end (Summer Term end)

Friday, Aug. 19

Deadline to remove Summer 2015 incomplete grade. Remaining I grades will convert to F

Tuesday, Aug. 23

Summer final grades due (2 p.m.)

Dates are subject to change; refer to term class schedule.

Some classes may require permission to register after the first class meeting. See admissions process page in the online class schedules for session begin and end dates.

Students who applied for financial aid and have not been awarded by the final tuition payment deadline date indicated will have their schedule canceled. Once the schedule is canceled, students must re-enroll and be prepared to pay for tuition and fees, plus late fees, from their own resources. Students can view their financial aid status in Connections.

Priority registration eligibility is based on the total number of credit hours already earned and all currently enrolled credit hours toward your degree, excluding prep classes. You must submit necessary VA documentation to establish an active file. If you attempt to register and an error occurs, contact your campus veterans affairs office or call (904) 632-3157 to make sure your VA file is active.

To ensure timely processing, courses must be dropped or withdrawn by 7 p.m. of the deadline date for each session.